Outfits · Vintage Finds

Candy Striped 1940s McCall’s Dress

IMG_9375

Another “I have to make this outfit for work tomorrow for no specific reason”!

Fabric was a Goodwill thrift store find, $2.99. I didn’t measure it but it looked like about 3 yards or so. It felt like medium weight duck cloth. So kind of like denim weight? I just loved the red and white stripes 🙂 Reminds me of candy canes.

Buttons are from Hobby Lobby and on sale. Vintage buckle if I remember correctly was an EBay find for $1. So all in all this dress cost me about $7!

IMG_9377
Bodice coming along

The fabric scared me just a little as I was constructing the bodice. The front two panels have facing. I minimized bulk by facing with white on white white polka dot quilting cotton scrapes. It also scared me that the skirt was gathered in between front pockets and it might not drape nicely. But I kept chugging along….

IMG_9379

This was before buttons, buttonholes and side snaps. I think my favorite part is the belt 🙂

3D5F116D-FE00-4961-AD6C-5C03E98484F9

Tada! About 5 hours of night sewing and I have a reproduction 1940’s Mccall’s dress.

IMG_9412

It’s hard to tell far away but I love the horizontal stripes on pocket and yolk and vertical stripes on the rest of the dress.

IMG_9415

Pockets big enough for a cell phone!

IMG_9416

It’s not perfect but I love it. And there’s that buckle ❤

IMG_9420

Back with darts on skirt and bodice.

IMG_9417

I ran out of time to sew the pattern’s shoulder pads. I’m debating wether to even add them. I love me some shoulder pads don’t get me wrong. Just don’t know if this dress needs them?

IMG_9427

Wore my dress with my Royal Vintage Dolores sling backs I purchased awhile back and a vintage barn purse.

IMG_9429

From far away dress looks pink.

IMG_9428

I’m still on the fence about the fabric. It reminds me of a jean dress in the weight and feel. I might try this dress pattern in a lightweight cotton lawn. But I’ll still wear this darling make ❤

2 thoughts on “Candy Striped 1940s McCall’s Dress

Comments are closed.