Outfits · Uncategorized · Vintage Finds

4th of July, Vintage Style

IMG_8483

Happy 4th of July! To celebrate Independence Day I thought it fitting to wear red, white and blue. Vintage style of course 🙂

Simplicity has a reproduction pattern that does 1940’s casual so well. I bought three of these. High waist trousers, button down blouse and coordinating vest. I have yet to make that vest though. I can’t decide on the fabric 🙂

IMG_8471

I chose to make just the blouse this time. I used a lightweight cotton nautical print (perfect for celebrating the holiday on the coast), with plastic fish buttons. Kitschy!

2980C5CD-4C11-4793-811F-2D638870904B

This was such an easy make, and it will be my 3rd blouse in this pattern. The last button is white because 1) I didn’t have an extra fish, and 2) that button is covered when you tuck in the blouse. Making do with what I have! Front has shoulder darts, wide collar and shoulder pads (I personally think for that 40’s look one must use shoulder pads).

IMG_8594

Wide leg trousers are from another reproduction pattern from Simplicity I bought awhile back. I’ve worn them weekly and they’ve become a staple wardrobe piece for me.

IMG_9155

And here I am at the coast taking full advantage of the nautical, patriotic look.

IMG_9154
Enjoying the shade 🙂

I also went antique and thrift store hopping over the holiday weekend. Found some adorable vintage buttons and two needlecraft magazines. One dated October 1918 and the other September 1937. In a later post I’ll see about posting photos of the advertisements in them, they are so fun to read.

IMG_9159IMG_9158

IMG_9157
Does anyone else plan a sewing project around their buttons?

So Happy 4th of July and I hope you enjoy the weather! I’m off to enjoy some bratwursts on the grill, potato salad and chocolate cake 🙂 My ancestors fought in the American Revolutionary War so I’m going to raise a toast and enjoy the day!

2 thoughts on “4th of July, Vintage Style

Comments are closed.