Outfits · Uncategorized · Vintage Finds

Vintage Simplicity Shorts- Side Buttons

IMG_8588

Wanted to share my Mother’s Day outfit with you all 🙂 Today is such a beautiful Sunday and only 91 degrees Fahrenheit with 38% humidity…this calls for shorts!

The above pattern is circa 1940’s. And if you notice the model on the right has some epic Princess Leia hair going on 🙂

I did make the one shoulder top, but I had to grade the pattern due to my larger bust.   It was, simply, a disaster. It fits ok on bust and shoulder but the bottom floats about 3 inches from the bottom of my bust and does not hug the rib cage. I think I need to put darts on it. I just don’t know where. I’m thinking under the bust at an angle. So for now I’ll just show you the shorts. Those came out perfect 🙂

IMG_8591

The fabric is a clearance mystery remnant. Feels like a lightweight denim. I love the slight stiffness to it, as it holds its’ shape. Looking at the photo I forgot to iron the front creases in. The color is a cherry sea foam green. I don’t own any other clothes this color and now I’m wondering why. So happy looking!

I didn’t have any thread to match so in true “make do and mend” spirit I used what I had. White thread. I still don’t know if I like the white buttonhole binding (showcases my novice button hole skills) but it will have to do for now.

IMG_8590

Tada! Blouse is my reproduction vintage Simplicity blouse I’ve made two of already. Love that pattern.

IMG_8581

And it wouldn’t be complete without an obligatory bathroom selfie ❤

One thought on “Vintage Simplicity Shorts- Side Buttons

  1. I love the button detail on the side of the shorts!
    As for your top that is too big around your ribcage, you could add a few darts underneath, from the waist. I am currently making a dress and having the exact same problem- it fits in the bust, but is too big around the waist. I have done some reading and they suggest, rather than making large darts which can be hard to fit, instead make two smaller darts for each side (total of 4 small darts). The maximum width for a dart is suggested to be 3/4″ otherwise it can get too pointy.
    I hope that helps, and that you are able to save your top!
    -Nicole

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.