Outfits · Uncategorized

Simplicity 1940’s Suit

IMG_8121

Nothing quite compares to a good suit. Call it confidence, call it style, call it whatever you like, a suit can do a lot for one’s morale. Like a suit of fashion armor 🙂

I think, and it’s only a matter of personal preference, that the 1940’s was the crème de la crème of women’s suits. The shoulder pads, the tailoring, the no-nonsense elegance. *SWOON*

And here comes in my newest pattern acquisition, Simplicity 1226. The envelope back describes it as “Misses’ Two-Piece Suit: the slimly fitted jacket buttons down to the front and is finished with a notched collar. The skirt is seamed down the center front and back and joined to a waist band. In Style II, the jacket back is flared at the lower edge and two narrow strips of self-fabric, inserted at the waistline seams, tie in a bow above the flare.”

IMG_8121

I was sold on a suit with a bow. And did anyone notice the model on Style II has on with a snood with tilt hat?

IMG_8125

I actually made this a few weeks ago, and wouldn’t you guess San Antonio was in the 90s Farenheit. So my mind went to sewing a few summery dresses and two piece 1930’s beach pajamas and I forgot about this suit. Just hanging patiently in my closet.

IMG_8124

I apologize for the wrinkles it was my work outfit today 🙂 The fabric is a mystery suiting, but as you see with the wrinkles is probably cotton. It has a nice sturdy weave and weight to it too.

IMG_8122

This was my first suit I ever attempted to sew, and I’m proud of it. It’s far from perfect (those darn bound buttonholes almost did me in!) but I learned some new techniques as well. And I couldn’t pass up the chance to use shoulder pads (store bought this time).

The skirt closes up the left side with vintage snaps and a vintage button. It matches the buttons on the suit as well. Seams are bias strip bound on both skirt and suit, and I think that gave it a professional finish (and I don’t own a serger).

IMG_8123

The plastic earrings and necklace are thrifted, I love the orange-sherbet color 🙂

IMG_8116

The purse is an antique store find for about $10. I don’t know if it’s real leather or the age but it’s my new go-to purse.

IMG_8119

Now for the hat 🙂 I purchased this 1940’s straw hat from Etsy store Canary Club Vintage. Tilted, velvet ribbon, decorative swirl loveliness ❤

IMG_8117

Isn’t that lovely?

IMG_8118

Inside just as lovely as the outside. Don’t you love vintage clothing and hat labels?

IMG_8083

I also have to rave about Canary Club Vintage’s packaging. I am a total visual consumer, and anything that’s pretty and appealing and functional wins my heart. They even packed a vintage hankie!!!!! On top of their customer service and quick shipping. I will definitely buy from them again 🙂

So that was my adventure sewing my first 1940’s suit!

2 thoughts on “Simplicity 1940’s Suit

Comments are closed.