Outfits · Uncategorized · Vintage Finds

Simplicity Button Dress

IMG_7838

As any fellow crafter can relate to, you wish you had more hours dedicated to your craft than to your “responsibilities”. I wish my career was sewing vintage style dresses for myself. If anyone knows how I can turn this passion into a viable business I’m all ears lol!

I purchased an orignal vintage 1940’s dress pattern which caught my eye with its waist detail. One of the reasons why I love 1940’s dress styles is the tailored details. I think a lot of modern ready to wear dresses lack those details now. Multiple waist darts, shoulder pads, sleeve detailing, decorative trims. I think these details need to come back in fashion.

I was hesitant to use a print fabric (100% cotton calico) for this dress (short sleeve version 2- the model with the cute dog at her feet), as to my eye, when you use a print you can’t see those waist darts or details. Maybe with some vintage piping to showcase the waist it would work?

Along with my vintage buttons and piping, awhile back I found at the Goodwill a pile of vintage zippers (circa 1940s-1950s) in their original packaging. 99 cents each. I bought all of them. With a little stab of guilt I opened the cellophane packaging and used a zipper for the blouse front, as instructed by the pattern.

IMG_7850

With the zipper front, the buttons I chose to use were purely decorative. I just wanted them on this dress šŸ™‚ I attached them to the right side of the zipper on the edge so when it’s zipped up, the buttons are as close to the center as possible.

IMG_7886

Tada! Dress complete. Made in a late night sewing frenzy, I was determined to make time for the things I love and enjoy.

IMG_7883

There’s six sets of gathers on this dress. Two on front blouse, two on blouse back, and two on dress front.

IMG_7884

Back two gathers on blouse. I carried the piping along back as well, it’s just hard to see in this photo.

IMG_7882

I really think my favorite part are the sleeves. Four sets of teeny darts. I’ve usually seen gathered sleeves, but she think I prefer darted sleeves now. Gives a nice strong shoulder look that 1940’s dresses are known for. The pattern even showed one how to sew the shoulder pads with a square piece of fabric and batting for triangle pads. I don’t like spending $6+ on store bought shoulder pads, so I’m happy that I can now make my own for all my future shoulders šŸ™‚

IMG_7885

I love this pattern. It came with the original iron-on transfers for the view 2 flower embroidery and they look unused. I think a white dress with those flowers would look perfect for spring. Hmmmm, time to make more time for sewing šŸ™‚

 

4 thoughts on “Simplicity Button Dress

  1. That is GORGEOUS! Your makes are so inspirational, thank you. If you ever come to Austin, my friend Lisa and I wanna hang out with you! We both love vintage and sewing…

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.