Outfits · Vintage Finds

Vintage Simplicity Wrap Blouse

img_7494

For awhile now I’ve been hunting for a classic 1940’s wrap blouse. Economic in design and easy to make, it would be right up my penny-pinching alley 🙂

img_7489

img_7488

Eventually I would like to make all the blouse versions, but I chose View #4 with a slashed neckline and front peplum.

img_7241

I found this lovely red background with pink flowers fabric on sale. Score!

img_7487

It wasn’t until I was cutting out the pattern pieces did I realize what the flowers were. Poinsettias. Christmas flowers! But seeing that I didn’t immediately think “Christmas” when I bought it, I decided to go along with the fabric. Hopefully I wouldn’t have a blouse to only wear during the holidays!

img_7243

The blouse closes under the armpits with two buttons. I felt a pang of guilt removing these off the card, knowing they’ve been together so long through thick and thin. But I think these buttons were happy live up to their destiny.

img_7283

Tada! Blouse finished! It was a very easy sew, easy enough I watched TV while I made it. The design is a little outside my comfort zone with the peplum (I prefer tucked in blouses), but it’s grown on me. So feminine!

img_7491

Side view. You can see the vintage buttons on the sides and how the blouse wraps to the back with a bow.

img_7493

Front view. The slashed collar is just perfect, and if I don’t think about it being Christmas fabric I can wear this blouse this spring!

img_7492

Back view with bow. Peplum is only on the front so back view is all for the bow.

img_7490

Front peplum view 🙂 I love this pattern so much. Sometimes it helps to venture out of your fashion comfort zone and try something new. Who knows, maybe you’ll find a new favorite!

