Outfits · Vintage Finds

1940’s Winter Wear

image

Yay! It’s finally cold in San Antonio, TX! (Cold as in finally able to wear a coat, not in the negative digits cold). Time to wear the vintage winter wear and long sleeves before it gets back into sweaty weather in April 🙂

I purchased a circa 1940’s Simplicity 2142 dress pattern because of the bishop sleeves in the envelope illustration. What sleeves ❤

image

Tada! (Apologies for the blurry of the photos). Buttons and buckle are vintage finds. I at first wanted to use blue buttons to match but I didn’t have any suitable blue ones. I debated for awhile with the white but it’s grown on me. Pattern called for side opening with hook and eye/snaps. I used my vintage snap stash.  Bodice also opens to the waist in front with one button closure.

image

Two sets of darts both in front and back and of course my beloved shoulder pads. I love shoulder pads.

image

The epically oversized beret I crocheted free hand, and used craft felt for the flowers and feathers. I have to use several strategically placed bobby pins to hold it on my head.

image

I am thinking I might add wire to the inside brim to make it look more round and less floppy. What do you think? Formed or floppy?

image

Mother side of hat view. See what I mean? Floppy.

image

Goodwill find-coat. I think it’s circa 1980’s does 1940’s. Love the shoulder detail…with shoulder pads!

image

Ahhhh, finally wearing winter wear ❤

image

I might make a few summer versions of this dress, maybe a nice white with tiny red polka dot pattern with red belt. But for now I’m happy with this one 🙂

