Uncategorized

My 1940’s Vogue 7464 Hat

image

So I bought this Vogue #7464 pattern awhile back, and every so often would drool over the envelope cover. I honestly don’t know why I did not attempt to make one these hats sooner. Maybe because I haven’t ventured into millinery and wasn’t confident in my skills. That might of been it.

My heart said try view “B”. I purchased the wool felt, buckram (like a really heavy interfacing), the odds and ends, and took a deep breath. Here it goes!

The pattern wording is very straight forward, but I felt as if they could of added more picture diagrams. There wasn’t a photo of the back of the hat on the envelope which would of helped. A lot.

image
Hat sewn up

Here is a photo of the hat with all of the machine sewing completed. Does not look like a hat. This is before you have to make the loop that both those pointy ends on the right get pulled into, then tacked onto place. Then you adjust the wired front part and magically your black blob of felt becomes a hat.

image

Here is the steam shaped buckram pinned to the inside of the hat. Now, I’ve never used buckram before so I have no idea how it was supposed to look inside. But I figured it wasn’t going to be seen by anyone but me so I did my best and didn’t agonize over the look. I did hand sew the buckram to the hat, along with hand sewing the ribbon around the buckram.

image

I purchaed these little wig clips at my neighborhood beauty supply store and hand sewed them onto the ribbon. I used two, one of each side of my hat. I tried to use a hat pin but I couldn’t get a good grip without the hat wiggling around. I didn’t want to use the elastic to hold it on my head. The wig clips hold really well on my fine textured hair, and the hat won’t wiggle at all on me.

image

Hat! It took me less than an hour to make, from cutting pattern pieces to sewing. I think it took me more time trying to shape the wire brim to look like the pattern envelope. I feel like the envelope photo of the hat shows the two pulled through ends of the hat as bigger than the pulled through ends of my hat. I don’t know why. But I love my hat anyway 🙂

image

Back of hat! I think the back of this hat is the nicest part. I like how the back gathered part hugs the back of my head. Very cute.

image
Top of hat

I took a tip of hat view so you could see the tacked down folds of front and the way the two pointy ends get pulled through the loop.

image
Tada! Hat day!

This is the finished hat, out and about. Love love love it.

image

You will spend a good amount of time bending the front wired brim to get it how you want.

image

Back of hat with the gathered part hugging my head. I love that. I don’t love how I managed to have a few hairs escape my curling iron. Hmmm.

I already want this hat in brown and burgandy. I did but some brown striped taffeta for view “C”. The millinery juices are now flowing, and I have Vouge 7464 to thank! 🙂

6 thoughts on “My 1940’s Vogue 7464 Hat

Comments are closed.