Outfits · Uncategorized · Vintage Finds

1930’s Simplicity Dress #8248

image

So remember when I said I was going to see more coordinating separates? Well, I was. And I am. But THIS dress pattern caught my eye. Somehow it hopped right into my shopping cart!  Simplicity #8248 is a reproduction 1930’s pattern. I love seeing the original envelope artwork. Not only are they beautiful drawings but I love the patterns and color combinations. Major design inspiration.

image

I chose a burgandy crepe for the dress with white shantung  for the contrast binding and belt. The vintage belt buckle is an eBay find, and I thought the shell-like shape was just adorable.

I had never sewn with crepe before, and boy oh boy was I in for a surprise! That darn fabric stretches and slips. It was frustrating to be honest. I used the size 12 pattern size without any alterations to the bodice, but I did shorten the skirt by about 1 1/2 inches.

image

From the moment I cut out the pieces I knew I was going to have to pin and stay stitch the heck out of almost every single piece. This, from a woman who like to speed sew a dress in one evening, was a test of patience.

image

Above is the bodice, collar and one sleeve done. I love the interfaced collar and the way it’s constructed, directions are easy to follow and I thought the diagrams guided it without seeming like they skipped a step. Looking at my collar in that photo I see it’s overlapped a bit. But I’m ok with that, thanks to the crepe wiggly bits. I omitted the pockets because I thought they weighed down the front of the light dress.

image

And here’s the finished dress! I finished the dress hem and sleeve hems with a hand rolled hem, I thought the crepe would feel light and swishy with a dainty feel with that technique. I also set in the zipper by hand, also due to my inexperience with crepe and wanting to get it right. This crepe does not like seam ripping or re-do sewing at all, so slow steady hand sewing suited me just fine.

image

Side view. I don’t know why but I kind of like matching my shoes to my dress, and this was as close as I got 🙂

image

My favorite design on this dress are the sleeves. I love the folds and dart and how it puffs perfectly. You just don’t see stylish sleeves very much anymore!

image

The back has two darts on the skirt part and a keyhole back opening with a vintage button closure.

image

Close up of the back 🙂

image

I have worn this twice already and have received so many complements on it! And note, i am wearing a full slip underneath. Come springtime I want to try this with a white linen blend with blue binding and belt, and perhaps 3 vertical blue buttons on the bodice from the center of collar. And I’ll see about adding pockets on that dress. Will I sew with crepe again? Yes, but not right away….I love my cottons and linens and wools and now appreciate them even more 🙂

5 thoughts on “1930’s Simplicity Dress #8248

Comments are closed.