Outfits · Vintage Finds

1940’s Outfit of the Day

image

It was a work day today, and so I wanted to wear a hat. You know you have a nice hat when you plan an outfit around it!

The blouse is from a vintage Simplicity 3865 pattern. It is such a lovely style with puffy sleeves and darted waist. I made this before in a crisp white cotton here. 

image.jpeg

This time around I chose a minty green cotton with vintage brown buttons. I wish I had green seam binding but only had white so in true “make do and mend” style I made it work!

image

I just can’t say enough about those sleeves!

image

The vintage hat that dictated my outfit is made of felt. I have examined every curve and seam on that hat, wondering how it was made. Makes one want to learn millinery to crack its’ mysterious secrets.

The skirt is from a vintage Hollywood pattern. Favorite part for me are the oversized pockets sewn on top of the dress front.  I’ve made it in brown here and also in burgundy.  Please excuse the wrinkles of course it was a busy work day and I swear it started out starched and ironed! 🙂

image

Underthings are a full slip and stockings. And let me tell you, a day on my feet in heels is much more comfortable in stockings than without!

So that’s my outfit of the day, vintage style 🙂

One thought on “1940’s Outfit of the Day

Comments are closed.