Outfits · Vintage Finds

1940’s Sun Glo Aloha Jumper

image

So I will gladly admit to being an Etsy addict. I will browse nearly every day admiring how talented the world’s artists are. If I was rich I would buy so many beautiful things and support independent artists 🙂

While browsing one day I came across a wonderful Etsy store called SubversiveFemme. She sells lovely vintage PDF files knitting and crochet. I literally want all of them! What a treasure trove. I purchased a favorite, “The Aloha Jumper“.

The main body of the jumper is a rib stitch. Super quick knit and no fancy stitches, this pattern is great for a beginner who is wanting a good sweater pattern.

I used size 2 and size 5 knitting needles and purchased a super fine weight yarn at Michaels called Loops and Thread Woolike.  I used I think 3 balls of red and a bit of white. It’s such a soft yarn to work with.

image

My alterations of the pattern to get the correct gauge is as follows:

1) For front and back I increased every 4th row until increased to 122 stitches (not the 128 in pattern).

2) When casting off for armholes, it says “K 2 tog each end of the next 4 rows, then every 2nd row 4 times.” But I did every 2nd row 3 times.

3) For short sleeves I casted on 62 stitches, then increased to 74 stitches instead of pattern’s 96. Then with the K 2 tog decreases I decreased until 24 stitches instead of pattern’s 28.

Everything else I followed in the pattern.

image

Tada! I think the cover model’s whole outfit is just adorable. So I copied her lol. The blue skirt was a Goodwill find, and under $5. I think my favorite part of the jumper is the knitted shoulder pads. It really adds structure and gives it that classic 1940’s look.

image

And thrifted vintage alligator heels of course!

image
Heart Buttons!

image.jpeg

Shoulder pads!

image

 

 

I love the finished look. It’s my Thanksgiving outfit today (though now I wish the skirt had elastic with all the food I ate)!

I now have a brown version with turquoise stripes in the works!

