Outfits · Vintage Finds

Maureen O’Sullivan’s Wartime Knitting Pattern Complete

fullsizerender2

So who doesn’t want to be as stylish as Hollywood star Maureen O’Sullivan? Well then, time to get to work!

There is a wonderful Etsy seller named Lucy who’s Etsy shop “1940sPatterns” has the most amazing collection of vintage knitting patterns. I purchased the “1940’s Bestway 448 PDF Knitting Pattern-Fancy Rib Jumper Worn By Maureen O’Sullivan-Wartime Knitting Pattern“. (Thank you to Lucy for allowing me to use the cover image of the pattern!)

I purchased KnitPicks Wool of the Andes yarn in color Thyme. That darn color is so hard to photograph! Sometimes it looks brown, sometimes green. It’s lovely in person you must believe me! šŸ™‚ Pattern took me just a few days to knit up in worsted weight, which was a lovely departure from my other knitting projects with fingering weight yarn.

img_6137

I shortened the bodice just a little. I love the ribbing, gives it a very “sweater girl” look. I think my shoulders are too broad for this one though, next time I’ll widen the shoulder width area. But I still love it. The antique store-find necklace really jazzes it up at the neckline.

img_6138

Pattern called for a button flap on one shoulder. I love the detail šŸ™‚

img_6139

So thrifted wool skirt with front pleat, thrifted leather loafers (with tassels!) and a thrifted crocheted cord purse with metal zipper. Loafers were under $4 and just needed some shoe polish and spit shine to look good-as-new.

img_6136

The purse is just darling. It’s lined in a brown satin-like fabric. It closes with a metal zipper with plastic looking zipper pull. It looks home made, but made very well. The yarn feels like cording, which might be that “gimp” that all the vintage purse and hat patterns call for!

img_6140

Another vintage sweater done! I think this would look lovely in a dark blue or rich burgandy. One can’t go wrong with wardrobe separates. This sweater would also look lovely with a pair of 1940’s trousers ALA Katherine Hepburn. Possibilities!

4 thoughts on “Maureen O’Sullivan’s Wartime Knitting Pattern Complete

Comments are closed.