Goings On · Vintage Finds

1940’s Ribbed Cardigan-Just in Time for Cool Weather!

img_5943
Thanks to Etsy seller IckyTheCat for allowing me to use the pattern photo!

So I’ve found that sweater styles from the 1930’s and 1940’s are just wonderful. For knitting and crochet patterns made during WWII, they used classic styles and minimized the amount of yarn used. Looking at the styles of the day, one could easily wear these sweaters and they would still look timeless.

Etsy seller IckyTheCat has some great vintage patterns available as a PDF. I love PDF patterns, because once I pay they’re available for download which feeds my need for instant gratification 🙂 One of the PDF patterns I bought from IckyTheCat included a lovely Willow Yarn “V” Neck Cardigan.

Pattern called for Jack Frost Willow Yarn, 8 20z skeins. With that yarn being discontinued, I searched around online to find it’s near a bulky weight yarn. I then bought a few skeins of Loops and Threads Charisma yarn in color Charcoal. I found mine at the local Michaels store. I also used a size 11 knitting needle. I had to adjust my tension and needle a few times as I could not get the swatch gauge right at first. I think I knit loose.

img_5621

The pattern is very straight forward and easy to follow. I love a pattern that I don;t have to pay too much attention to while I watched TV 🙂

One side of the shoulder is left un-sewn to allow for a button closure. I love it.

img_6103

I did want to share my vintage find, a large gold and silver colored leaf brooch. Since it’s Autumn I thought it very appropriate 🙂

img_6110

Finished sweater. Now, please ignore the yuck hairstyle. I had lovely shaped curls but then I got caught in a rain-mist that ruined them 😦 No amount of hairspray can save one’s hair from water! I am also wearing my thrifted wool skirt (love the pleats) and thrifted blouse. Accessories are a vintage felt purse (details in my Something Old, Something New, Something Thrifted, Something Blue post), and my new felt hat.

I went to New Braunfels, Texas for Wurstfest, and it was a blast. I had my share of wurst and fun 🙂 And can you believe it the weather was in the low 60’s Fahrenheit, yay!!!! FINALLY sweater weather in Texas!

img_6111

I hope this inspires everyone to try a vintage knitting or crochet pattern, they’re not as vague and scary as one would think, and you’ll have a “new” vintage piece for your “me-made” wardrobe 🙂

