Outfits · Vintage Finds

Round 2 Vintage Simplicity Daytime Blouse and Skirt

img_5319
I just noticed the little military inspired patch on the left arm of the short sleeve model. How cute!

Who likes giving up? Not this sewer. Nope. A little while back I posted my toile, Vintage Simplicity Toile-YIKES!. The pattern was a circa 1941 Simplicity pattern #3865. It was a slight disaster. Too short, too tight, too uncomfortable. But isn’t that why we create our own wardrobe? To make it fit us exactly how we want?

I lengthened the front and back pieces by over 4 inches, enlarged the armholes (they were originally cutting into my armpits), and lowered the front tucks so they weren’t on my bust but rather on the waist like the envelope illustration. Took some math (blah) and some time but it was definitely worth it. Thank goodness for my new dressmaking form ๐Ÿ™‚

img_5313

Tada! It’s a bit un-tucked in the above photo. I used vintage nurses’ uniform buttons in a nice white pearl. The fabric is a nice cotton blend shirting like fabric I got on clearance. It’s got a bit of a stretch, which I knew would help with the wear and cut on the sleeves.

It features a Peter Pan collar and is gathered in front and back shoulder yokes. I have broad shoulders and was at first really apprehensive about the puffy sleeves on my silhouette. I had to wear this a few times to come to the conclusion that it looks ok on me. It’s my only puffy sleeved blouse so far and I think I like it ๐Ÿ™‚

img_5314

Just as a note my hair is messy as this was after a hot, sweaty work day. I think that makes it look touseled lol! The hat is a lovely felt number I purchased at an antique store wayyyyyy back when I was in high school in the 90’s. I just adore the feather. I finished all interior seams with seam binding ( I do not own a serger).

img_5310

I also made the matching skirt that was also pictured. I omitted the welt poclets from the front because 1) the pattern instructions were not making sense to me and some vintage instructions seem to assume you are a seasoned sewer and 2) I’m not a seasoned sewer lol!

img_5309

I used this warm, rich olive colored bengaline and I’m smitten. I now want all my skirts to be in bengaline. It drapes so well while resisting wrinkles. SOLD. I drafted a matching belt with leftover fabric and a vintage buckle. Shoes are thrifted.

I think I’m going to practice welt pockets and then come back to this skirt and decide if I want to add them. For now though I love the clean front.

Thanks for reading and until next time!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Round 2 Vintage Simplicity Daytime Blouse and Skirt

Comments are closed.