Outfits · Vintage Finds

Vintage “Hollywood” Skirt Pattern

IMG_4990

So I think this skirt was designed for teenagers. I’m not a teenager. I was in college about 12 years ago. Way past my teen years ๐Ÿ™‚ But thank goodness beautiful clothes know no age! From their hairstyles this is probably from the last 40s-early 50s? I fell in love with the outside pockets and front pleat. Very cute. And let’s admire their loafers. #ShoeEnvy.

IMG_4995
Apologize for the poor quality photo and the chihuahua (he’s always by my side such a momma’s boy!)

The pattern pieces were not printed and were already cut. The dart lines were marked by machine punched holes in the tissue. This was my first try at a vintage pattern without the printed markings on the pieces. Intimidating? At first. Impossible to figure out? Hardly! Nothing a good white fabric pencil couldn’t mark. I used almost two yards of a rich brown Kona cotton, thinking I could use more versatile separates in my vintage wardrobe.ย  A good brown color works with so many other colors. After about three hours of British crime dramas and I was done…..

IMG_5022

TADA! I bring to you my vintage teenager skirt. LOVE. It’s a bit wrinkly in the photos as these were taken at the end of a work day ๐Ÿ™‚ My blouse is the Vintage Simplicity 1692.

IMG_5021

The dainty brown wool hat I’m wearing was an antique store find this summer, shoes and purse thrifted. I wanted to point out that the skirt’s pockets are big enough for my cell phone (yay!) even though we know that cell phones were not on the minds of the original designers. It just works.

I was thinking as the weather cools down (wishful thinking on my part as San Antonio still has temps at 90 degrees Fahrenheit), this would look nice with brown tights, ankle booties and a fitted crew neck sweater. Hurry up Fall!

IMG_5015

I could not get the brown to show up correctly in the above close-up photo, but at least you can see the pocket details. They were formed separately from the skirt and top stiched to the front.

IMG_5017
My arm is not broken it’s just a back shot!

The back of the skirt (which the pattern envelope did not have an illustration of) has a pleat and two darts.

IMG_5013

These $6 gloves are EVERYTHING. I hugged these at the antique store that I found them in. They are immaculate. Swooning over the scallops ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_5027

The wool hat is so fun to wear. I love the folds, love the color, love the shape. One strategically placed bobby pin in back and this gem stayed on all day.

IMG_5018
$1 antique store earrings. SCORE!

Thank you so much for reading and I hope this inspires you to create a NEW outfit from a vintage pattern!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Vintage “Hollywood” Skirt Pattern

  1. The hem lines had dropped by the end of the 1940’s. I just looked through some very old vintage needle work magazines. The broad shoulders and the just below the knee length is right after WWII. Hollywood designer Edith Head created the shoulder pad look for Loretta Young because she had such a long neck. Cute skirt. I don’t remember Hollywood patterns but Advance was the last hold out for the cut pattern with punch holes. They didn’t start printing their patterns on sheets until the late 50’s.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The square shouldered silhouette makes me think 40’s too, and there were a lot of “Hollywood” patterns in that era. The skirt turned out very nicely- and your hat is the perfect compliment- it so nicely coordinates!
    -Nicole
    The Artyologist

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.