Outfits · Vintage Finds

Version #2 Plum Button Dress

IMG_4854

My last make was Decades Of Style’s 1930s Button Dress. I blogged about the pattern and finished piece and how I really enjoyed sewing it. That dress was made in a somewhat busy print. I knew after making it I wanted to try it in a solid color to see if the dress would look completely different. Drum roll please…..

IMG_4981

TADA! I chose a 100% cotton gauzy fabric in the most delicious plum color. The photos really don’t do the color justice. But believe me, it’s a beautiful plum πŸ™‚

IMG_4910(2)

 

I omitted the buttons on either side of the blouse-sleeve seams, and I added vintage piping instead. I do not have a zipper attachment on my sewing machine, so I sewed the piping and the seam by hand. IMG_4911

Curved seams + piping = lots of pins!

IMG_4982

Details of piping. It was very worth it! My first time piping a bodice seam and I’m hooked. Bodice seams are not safe around me anymore lol!

IMG_4983

Today I went to the San Antonio Vintage Expo and I found the cutest capelet. It’s a knobby fabric with a shiny lining. I think my favorite part are the glass buttons. Mind you it’s 90 degrees Fahrenheit today in San Antonio. Sigh. Colder weather needs to come soon, but until then I’m going to swoon over this while it hangs in my closet πŸ™‚

IMG_4980

It has a few holes in the lining, but nothing that I can’t mend.

IMG_4979

IMG_4984

Everyone needs a cape in their closet. Everyone.

IMG_4967

The vintage expo was wonderful. I met so many wonderful people, to include Michelle and her dapper dance partner. They are the San Antonio Swing Revival and they offered a complimentary beginners’ swing class there. OMG it was so much fun! The extent of my dancing skills prior to this class was the “Macarena” back in the 1990’s. So now you know where I was starting from! I can see myself dancing the night away πŸ™‚ I do want to thank A Better Estate Sale Co for allowing us to take this photo in their booth.

I’m wearing my Simplicity Weskit Blouse which was very comfortable and easy to dance in! And can you believe my hat stayed on through many dance spins?

Thanks for reading!!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Version #2 Plum Button Dress

Comments are closed.