Outfits · Uncategorized · Vintage Finds

#3007 1930s Button Dress

I was cruising my nearby mall the other day. Just shopping for my unmentionables 🙂 I noticed through the shop windows how fast fashion is just not for me. I remember when I abandoned my vintage clothes wearing after college and I thought that wearing “normal” clothes was the thing I had to do.

It was so hard finding my “style” as I bombarded with ads and magazines telling me what was “in” and what was “out” in the fashion world. Don’t get me wrong, I love a dark wash classic skinny jean, white crew neck t-shirt, dark blazer and heels. Tres chic. But why must we conform to what is “in” and like fashion sheep constantly change? It’s very overwhelming going into a closet full of fast fashion and still having nothing to wear. And it’s not that you have nothing to wear, it’s just that there is nothing in there that calls to your soul. Now that I’ve gone back to just wearing what I like instead of what’s expected, I’m more excited to just dress. There is nothing like wearing a great outfit that you love to make you seem invincible and able to conquer the world.

My dear hubby still asks once in awhile if I could wear “normal” clothes. Makes me think about the word “normal.” Dictionary.com has the adjective as “conforming to the standard or the common type…” There you have it, not for me. And I know there are so many talented sewers out there who create their own wardrobes, and many fabulous humans that just wear what they love, even if it’s not the status quo. Life is precious and life is short, so wear what your heart wants, even if it’s fast fashion!

IMG_4900

My OOTD is Decades of Style’s 1930s Button Dress. I purchased this pattern awhile ago. I admit at first I was intimidated by the word “button”, only because at the time I did not have a buttonhole attachment. Button holes on my garments were hand sewn. Not the perfect button holes were made 🙂 Forever went by and this pattern sat. It was only when I looked at the pattern closer that I realized those were decorative buttons. No buttonholes!

IMG_4931

This dress took about 8 hours to make from  cutting out pattern pieces to finish (give or take a few minutes I had to cook dinner lol). I added vintage rickrack to the bodice sleeve seams, and used two buttons on each side of the bodice instead of three only because I didn’t have the 8 called for.

IMG_4930

The fabric is cotton and for the life of me I don’t remember where I purchased it. I do know that I had just enough yardage for the dress as if it was meant to be!

IMG_4929

I don’t know if I got the back seams correct, but I’m happy with it. The instructions suggested hand sewing the sleeve hems, and I’m happy I followed them. The drape is delicate on the sleeves, and I don’t think it would drape as softly with a machine sewn hem.

IMG_4932

Do I like the finished dress? I love it. Now I want to buy the 1930s Capelet pattern and make it in a black velveteen, and maybe even the 1930s shaped seam skirt. Sigh. I need more sewing hours!

It was my happy work outfit today. I am wearing a store bought knee length full slip underneath, I think it helps the dress from being clingy in the wrong places and helps the hem drape. I would like to add that I had to go to 3 different department stores to find a simple slip. Are they not worn that much anymore? I’m always so scared of my underwear showing through my dresses!

Gloves, shoes and purse are thrifted and the hat, oh the hat. I actually found it today on my lunch break at an antique store. I tried it on and cartoon birds sang around me. Ok, maybe not cartoon birds. But I love this hat! Not sure on how old it is (any ideas?) but the maker’s tag on the inside band is on the opposite side of the bow. To me this means the bow is worn in the front. LOVE.

Thanks for reading and have a great day!

(Afternote): My measurements are 32 D and 27 inch waist and I used the size B 36 without any alterations 🙂

 

 

