Outfits

How to Do Fashion No. 7 VANLØSE

FullSizeRender(116)

When the lovely Nanna at How to Do Fashion offered to send me some of her gorgeous patterns, I of course said YES! I have been admiring her designs of her website here for some time now. Simple, elegant and glamorous. Who wouldn’t want to sew a outfit from a pattern like that?

I received my patterns in the mail. Post was quick as well. I don’t know about you, but I’m one of those people who can appreciate the wrapping of a present, or the bag that a shopping store gives with their items that you purchase, or the way a makeup item is packaged, or a dessert that’s presented so beautifully that you almost don’t want to eat it. Those little details do so much. How To Do Fashion’s patterns come in a folder, with printed folded patterns on paper, supply list and a cute garment tag to sew on your finished product. The folder has a cute ribbon bow tied across the front as well.

IMG_4757

No. 7 Vanlose reminds me of those 1930’s screen sirens of old Hollywood. Slinky, almost liquid outfits, moody eyes, perfectly curled locks. I did not have a pair of thirties’ style womens’ trousers, so I knew I’d like to have a go at this one.

FullSizeRender(117).jpg

When I unfolded the pattern paper I noticed the pattern was printed on both the front and back of the paper. How was I to cut out the paper pieces? I asked myself. I messaged How to Do Fashion and was told she always traces the patterns so the original is intact. Ah-ha! Me being used to the tissue paper patterns and having to cut them out, tracing was a new skill to me. Off to the store I went and for a few dollars I purchased my first tracing wheel and tracing paper. Tracing took as much time as cutting a tissue pattern out. I think I will use the tracing method from now on, and I can extend the life of my beloved patterns.

Instructions I found online on the How to Do Fashion website. They were simple to follow and had plenty of pictures on the construction steps. I did not print out the instructions but kept it open on my laptop. One of the steps was to make a hand knitted loop for button closure on the blouse. There was a link with a photo on how to make one. Thank goodness. It was my first time making one and it was easy. There is also a video link on setting in the zipper.

FullSizeRender(113)

About 6 hours of sewing gave me a beautiful outfit! I used a silky-feel polyester material and loved the drape. It was my first time using a bias cut for the blouse and I love the result. I did make one alteration to the fit. I lengthened the trousers by 2 inches. I’m 5’8″ without shoes, and since I knew I was going to wear these with heels I increased the length.

My measurements are 32 D and 27 inch waist. I used the size 6 US in the pattern sizes.

IMG_4792

Now before you wonder why my hair looks horrid, it is a rainy day here in San Antonio. Raining in Texas brings humidity. My curls were reduced to limp sadness in less than a few hours. Wahh.

IMG_4794

IMG_4779
Another example of how my hair hates humidity 😦

IMG_4790

I am very happy overall with my outfit. In the future I am going to experiment and use a crepe fabric. Maybe a salmon color?

IMG_4796

The crochet clutch I am holding I made in an evening. The pattern is from “The Complete Book of Crochet” by Elizabeth L. Matheson, reprinted September 1946. I altered the pattern slightly and made it more rectangular than square. It only mentioned “trim flap as desired.” I noticed the flap in the photo had sparkly bits. I used a sequined ribbon and wove it through in a few rows. TADA! A 1940’s purse to go with my 1930’s inspired outfit.

IMG_4795

Thanks for reading, and thank you to Nanna at How To Do Fashion for the opportunity to create one of her lovely designs!

2 thoughts on “How to Do Fashion No. 7 VANLØSE

Comments are closed.