Outfits · Vintage Finds

Vintage Vera AKA My Flight Attendant Ensemble

IMG_4748
Looks a bit wrinkly, this was after a day’s wear 🙂

So today was an interesting day. Awhile back I purchased this lovely silk blend vintage Vera scarf at the Goodwill for only $1.99. LOVE IT. It is in immaculate condition. I did a little internet research and I THINK it’s 1960’s era? Anyone who knows about vintage Vera scarves please correct me if I’m wrong. But for $1.99 I don’t mind what era it is from, it is just beautiful.

IMG_4749

I think the flowers are poppies? Love the signature style on the corner.

IMG_4750

So today in San Antonio it was gloomy. Hot, humid and rainy. Why not wear a happy outfit to combat this?

IMG_4746

Now let me warn you. As soon as I walked out of the bedroom my family asked me why I’m wearing a flight attendant uniform. I of course didn’t see it. Blue knee length skirt (thrifted), new Old Navy polo, t-strap heels (thrifted) and my lovely Vera scarf. I envisioned perhaps 1980’s does 1930’s preppy. Hmmm.

IMG_4747

I used one of my vintage clip on earrings as my scarf clip. Worked like a charm! I had a baby shower to attend, so before I went I stopped by a store to pick up a card. A lovely lady in line behind me commented, “I love your outfit! Are you a flight attendant?” No, I told her, but funny you should ask I was asked that same thing this morning!

At the baby shower, which was so much fun, I was asked not once but TWICE if I was a flight attendant!  I actually have a navy blue fur pillbox hat that would’ve looked divine with this outfit. I’m sure I would have gotten a lot more flight attendant questions wearing it. Funny thing is, I’ve always wanted to be a flight attendant. Seems all so glamorous. Maybe my unfulfilled dream has manifested itself into my choice of clothing. How Freudian. I loved my outfit today, and now I’m wondering if I should recreate an authentic vintage flight attendant outfit! Hmmmm!

Thanks for reading! 🙂

 

