Outfits · Vintage Finds

Simplicity Weskit Blouse

IMG_4629

Vintage sewing patterns, where do I begin? I love them. I like to think that long ago someone saw the pattern (brand new!) and liked it so much they could envision themselves in the outfit promised. The cover art inspired creativity. For the patterns that I find already cut out, I wonder how many outfits the pattern made, what fabrics were used and if they liked the end result. I know, I know, I think too much into things, but don’t you just wonder as well?

I found this vintage Simplicity pattern #4533 for $4. The pieces were already cut but they were in great condition and they were all still there along with instructions. I could not find a date on the envelope but it looks like a very 1950’s style to me.

IMG_4632

The fabric I purchased at Joanns Fabrics, a nice geometric cotton print. I was at first worried with such a bold directional print I wouldn’t be able to get the pattern to match and it would look weird. But heck, don’t know until you try!

IMG_4634

The instructions were simple to follow and within 1.5 hours from cutting fabric to sewing the pieces I had a blouse! The photo above still needed buttonholes, buttons and a good starched pressing. The instructions had an illustration of the button holes but the pattern did not have a placement guide. It called for 5 buttons but did not specify the size of buttons needed. I used new plastic buttons 3/4″ size and sewed 4 on the blouse. Hardest part was making sure they were evenly placed.

IMG_4663

I think my favorite part is how the front flaps end in a nice point on the bottom. I don’t wear many blouses un-tucked but I think this blouse has made me come out of my comfort zone of tucking.

I did whip up a self drafted skirt from a crepe-like black colored fabric I purchased at a thrift store for $1.98. Gotta love thrift fabric remnants!

IMG_4640

IMG_4661

TADA! My work outfit today. Makes going to work on just a Tuesday all the more nicer when you are wearing an outfit you love. Shoes I just found at the Goodwill a few days ago, Kenneth Cole and in near perfect condition.

IMG_4662

Don’t you love the front points at the bottom? I want to try this in a white taffeta for a dressy look with a gold tone broach. Hmmm!

IMG_4659

My vintage hat I’m wearing I purchased from an antique store about 16 years ago when I was in high school. It’s not in perfect shape but I love it.

IMG_4658

On each side is a perfectly shaped bow with loops for securing to the head. One bobby pin each side does the trick for me and the hat has stayed on without any wardrobe malfunctions.

IMG_4660

Poor little worn hat tag 😦

IMG_4668.JPG

My clip on earrings are a thrift store find. I’m happy they are clip one as they are HEAVY! I can endure a little bit of discomfort for fashion though πŸ™‚

IMG_4664

Thank you for reading and have a great, craft day πŸ˜›

 

4 thoughts on “Simplicity Weskit Blouse

  1. Love this outfit! I hardly ever wear blouses untucked either, I think because most of the bottom edges of blouses are boring, but having the points makes it interesting and a feature. You should definitely make a dressy one out of taffeta- that would be so pretty.
    -Nicole
    The Artyologist

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.