Outfits · Vintage Finds

Teepee Skirt and Antique Store Jewelry Haul

IMG_4375
Sun in my face again!

Does anyone remember as a child having a teepee tent? Endless hours of make believe and stealthily hiding from your parents at bedtime. My last trip to Hobby Lobby (I always use the 40% off coupon) I purchased three yards of the cutest teepee printed cotton. I saw it and immediately said, “SKIRT!”

FullSizeRender(84)

I used my vintage Simplicity pattern that I have so far created multiple skirts from, Je’Taime Paris Skirt in a Hurry, I’m In Love With GinghamSimplicity Lemon Skirt and Embellished Cardigan, Thrifted Fabric = Vintage Simplicity Pattern Skirt, and I’m In Love With Gingham (did I miss any?)

IMG_4377
Details of the teepees

It’s just a simple gathered skirt with three panels and a waistband. I am wearing a petticoat underneath (love the volume). The belt is from Broadway Pinups and the shoes and blouse are from Express.

And I’m happy that today my curls stayed ALL afternoon instead of giving up on me the minute I walked outside. Good hair day 🙂

Today’s outfit was worn on an antique store hopping day. I cruised three antique stores and I found something in each one! I found a smart emerald green coat, a lovely 1940’s inspired dress and two hats. I will post those finds later, I want to try them on! Today I will post my vintage jewelry finds 🙂 I was approached by two elderly ladies who told me in one of the stores, “We just had to tell you that your outfit is amazing. We saw you walk in and we followed you to get a better look!” Awww 🙂

IMG_4386

I addition to a lovely postcard of an elegant Edwardian? woman (I LOVE her hair bow), I found these earrings and a brooch. I found them for $1-$5 each. SCORE!

IMG_4385

Does any one know what the clip on purple earrings are? I don’t know what kind of flowers they are, but they are too adorable.

IMG_4384

I think the silver colored palm earrings would look lovely with a 1940’s pattern suit. The gold toned brooch with green colored stones and faux pearl is heavy. The back says “SarahCov”. A quick internet search turned up this Collector’s Weekly article. I had no idea vintage Sarah Coventry jewelry were so popular! Who doesn’t love good vintage costume jewelry?

Thanks for reading and wish you the best of luck on your antique store hunting!

