Outfits · Vintage Finds

Self Drafted Cherry Sweater

IMG_4257

Sometimes you just have to go for it. In sewing that is. I have this blue and red thrifted sweater, very 1980’s style to me, and I just love it. It’s such a great shape for my what I think are broad shoulders. I just can’t find this sweater’s silhouette anywhere. What’s one to do?

IMG_4254
Detail of the knit

I found this great, stretchy knit fabric remnant at an antique/thrift store last week. It’s a cherry red color and for $3 for about two yards, it was mine. I went home and draped it over myself. Hmmm, it would make a great short sleeve sweater….

IMG_4258

I cut around my favorite sweater and left about half and inch for a seam allowance. I did forget to add that half inch to the bottom though (ugh). So don’t forget to do that. I added maybe an inch give or take to the sleeves to give a look similar to my sweater.

I also cut a little neck “u” shape to the front neck part. Not too deep, but again to copy the “favorite sweater”.

IMG_4263
Tada! Finished sweater! Payless shoes blogged about here

Tada! Finished sweater! It’s soooo hot in SA but I was determined to wear my new creation. The skirt is Goodwill thrifted, a vintage Adolph Schuman  (1970’s?). Fabric feels like a thicker silk? I love the jean look to the side topstitching and pockets. LOVE!

IMG_4268

I have to admit I was very hesitant to wear a white skirt, as I have the worst luck wearing white. I did step very gingerly through parking lots in between cars and looked twice before sitting anywhere. So much pressure! AND in the above shot you can see that I sewed the wrong side to  the right side so the back of my sweater is actually inside-out. UGH. I’m going to ignore that lol….

IMG_4265

Overall I’m very happy with my self drafted sweater. It’s not perfect but I’m content. For $3 I got a reasonable copy cat of my favorite sweater 🙂 Now to hunt for some other knit fabrics…..

 

