Outfits · Vintage Finds

My Vintage Remnant Novelty Skirt

IMG_4188

So weeks back my dear mother gifted me yards and yards of fabric. She knows the way to my heart! Among the yards was a remnant. Vintage cotton, wrinkled but in fabulous condition. On one side it was already cut at an angle, so I know SOMEWHERE there is a skirt made from this.

The print is a scene of acrobats? and they’re taking turns balancing on stilts. If you look at the photo it’s girl/boy/girl/boy. Along the bottom little stilt riding people (to use as the waistband) and below them were printed instructions on how to make the panels into a skirt. Brilliant. I want to become a textile designer and design novelty skirt fabric with instructions ON the fabric. Anyone want collaborate???? I’m serious this is amazing.

IMG_4198

After carefully cutting out the panels I counted. Only 8 panels. UGH. Not enough for a twirly skirt. I dug through my stash and weighed my options heavily. I did have a cadet blue broadcloth and red cotton. But I wanted the printed panels to “pop”. I laid a black cotton next to it and bam! Found my 8 other complementary panels.

So while watching the original, and in my opinion the best ever “Sabrina” movie (Audrey and Bogard *swoon!*) I whipped up this skirt. I used the little stilt peope border print as my waistband, and added a large hook and eye closure. DONE!

IMG_4200
Acrobat Skirt DONE!

I think it’s so whimsical! I think come cooler months (as I lament the three digit summer we are having here in Texas) I will wear it with a slim black turtleneck.

IMG_4199
Panel Details…

I am wearing my trusty petticoat for oomph. I think I twirled several times today already. So from sitting in my stash to being transformed into what it was meant to be, two thumb up!

IMG_4201

Happy 4th of July my fellow vintage enthusiasts and stay cool!

 

5 thoughts on “My Vintage Remnant Novelty Skirt

Comments are closed.