Outfits · Vintage Finds

Butterick 5895 Jeans, Top and Antique Show Finds!

IMG_3576

Time for my faithful Butterick pattern, Gertie’s 5895. I’ve sewn up a few makes of this pattern, my Butterick 5985, Vintage Playsuit, Butterick 5895, Smart Stripes, My Butterick Cherry Shorts and Fabric Outlet Haul, DIY Vintage Jeans and Me Made 2016 Pledge!, and Butterick B5895 Two Ways.

Hmmm, now that I think about it, I had no idea before this post that I made a good chunk of my separates wardrobe from this pattern! I do want to figure out how to modify the blouse to be a tuck in blouse and not a tie front blouse, shouldn’t be extremely difficult. Add maybe two more buttons down? I’ll do a little photo tutorial if I figure it out next time I give it a go.

IMG_3864
Close up of Butterick 5895 top and jeans!

I used a lightweight plaid this time for the top, in the size 10. Maybe it’s just me but I think I made my buttonholes a little too far from the edge. Hmm…

IMG_3865.JPG
Complete outfit, ready for an afternoon at the antique show (Notice my reusable shopping tote to carry my future finds!)

Like I’ve mentioned before, this pattern has gotten me over my irrational fear of sewing jeans, trousers, pants you name it. Now that’s all I want to make! I’d like to make these a bit longer and not rolled up for a more cigarette pants kind of look. Just haven’t decided as to what fabric and color to make it from.

 

IMG_3845.JPG
Yep, cacti. Cacti earrings 🙂

My favorite part of my weekend outfit was the cutest pair of cacti earrings. They feel like paper mache. Found them for one whole dollar! Very kitsch and very fun, and isn’t that the whole point of accessorizing?

IMG_3850
Children’s sewing machines at the antique show

On Saturday I went to the New Braunfels Antique Show. Mostly to browse and drool, as I do most of my buying and haggling at estate sales and thrift stores. But they had so many wonderful vendors there and so many friendly faces. I came across a few vintage children’s sewing machines for sale which made my heart go pitter-patter. I wanted to take them all home with me! The vendor explained that the biggest one in the back with the curved neck was actually made to sew straw hats. Ingenious. She also mentioned that the other ones make a chain stitch not a straight stitch so they did not have to use bobbins.

IMG_3866

I did purchase three dainty tea towels. They need a good pressing but either than that they have no stains or rips. I can’t make up my mind if the the yellow one has a moon peeking behind the palm tree or a sun. Leaning towards the moon. The little Dutch girl with her windmills and tulips have THE tiniest embroidery stitches. Now I need an excuse for a tea party!

IMG_3838
Goodwill find, a state plate

I also found at the Goodwill a super kitsch New Mexico state plate for $2.99. It even came with the plate hangar. I’ve been to New Mexico numerous times, and I think everyone should go at least once!

IMG_3840
Up close shot of New Mexico plate

It is now hanging proudly in the kitchen over the sink. Just might start a collection of lone plates to hang with this one now. I wish I could date this plate, and if anyone out there has any educated guesses I am all ears!

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Butterick 5895 Jeans, Top and Antique Show Finds!

Comments are closed.