Outfits · Vintage Finds

Vintage Patterns Oh How I Love Thee

I wanted to start with my Me Made May 2016 Day 15, because I use this one almost every day. Butterick 5518 is such a cute pattern. I omitted the pockets and elastic bust. This is my “why am I the only one doing the dishes-omg I have a lunch date I better bring a coffee cake-I’m making pasta and I don’t want splatters-apron.” I picked an inexpensive calico in a cheery print. Might as well have some happiness while scrubbing away!

IMG_3389

My Me Made May 2016 Day 16 is my Patterns by Gertie Butterick 6094 which I blogged about here. 

Such a wardrobe staple and I love blue. Always a winner in my book! I was trying to channel my inner Snow White spirit with my hair today. But thanks alot San Antonio humidity for making those bouncy pin curls limp within an hour. Sigh. At least I have photographic proof they were lovely.

FullSizeRender(104)

Most of the time I’m indifferent to the mail. Sometimes I will have no desire to even think about my mail box. Just more people wanting something from me in one form or another. Hardly an old fashioned letter or card of well wishes. Nope. Ads or bills. How sad. But today, oh today! Three lovely little packages arrived, and I felt like it was Christmas.

FullSizeRender(103)

This cute 1950’s ensemble has the smartest skirt with a nice inverted front pleat. I have some nice suiting fabric in mind for this one, perfect for fall.

FullSizeRender(102)

I fell in love with the details on this dress. Front and back are amazing. I might use a vintage thrift sheet for this one and see how it turns out.

FullSizeRender(101)

Now this little 1940’s number is just yummy. So simple, so elegant. And it will look so different depending on type of fabric. Vintage McCall’s gets two thumbs up!

IMG_3365

Before we bid adieu I did want to share some thrift finds. Two-ish yards of a silky peach and white fabric for $1.98 and then 4 cards of vintage buttons for a total of 75 cents. SCORE! One can never hoard too many vintage buttons that’s what I always say 🙂 Always.

