Outfits · Vintage Finds

Simplicity Lemon Skirt and Embellished Cardigan

FullSizeRender(100)

So I’ve been yearning for a few pretty vintage brooches for some time now. I haven’t really come across any that I absolutely love however, so my cardigans and blouses are missing that je ne sais quoi. Necessity really is the mother of invention and in my case the mother of cute embellishments!

While cruising the craft isles at Walmart I found these cute little ribbon flowers. Eureka! I had recently purchased a $3.98 cardigan at the Goodwill and knew it was a match made in heaven.

IMG_3263

About an hour later while watching TV I made my embellished flower bouquet brooch. It has just enough sparkle for me, and I love it.

IMG_3272

Here’s my Me Made May 2016 #MMMay16 Day 10 outfit. My embellished cardigan paired with my high waist jeans from DIY Vintage Jeans and Me Made 2016 Pledge! Another day in the books!

FullSizeRender(99)

My Me Made May 2016 #MMMay16 Day 11 outfit is a purchased blouse, payless heels and my vintage Simplicity sewing pattern skirt with a Gertie Fabrics Collection print bought at Jo-Ann Fabrics. I did have a clumsy iced tea on blouse moment though so I had to change halfway through. UGH.

I have made this skirt so many times already with Thrifted Fabric = Vintage Simplicity Pattern Skirt, Je’Taime Paris Skirt in a Hurry and I’m In Love With Gingham and it’s such a versatile pattern.

IMG_2348

I still have yet to make the button down blouse. Really should sometime 🙂

IMG_3258

I did want to share a photo of one of my favorite thrift finds. These snack plates are just the cutest. Unfortunately I couldn’t find their matching cups. The photo has a vintage Fire King cup though for looks. Snacks are just so much better with these darlings. There isn’t a maker’s mark on the bottom, so I thought they could be Anchor Glass Ware.  I had posted this photo on Instagram and a wonderful Instgrammer noted she say a set on Ebay and Etsy and that the Etsy site said they were made by the Federal Glass Company. Swoon!

IMG_3278

Last but not least I wanted to give my mother a great big shout out for giving me a heap full of yummy fabric. Lucky, lucky me! One is actually a discontinued Alexander Henry print (second from left) that has a very Picasso-esque look. Can not wait to turn these into outfits!!!!

Thanks for reading! 🙂

 

