Goings On · Outfits

My Butterick Cherry Shorts and Fabric Outlet Haul

IMG_3314(1)

So let’s get my Me Made May 2016 #MMMay16 Day 12 outfit out of the way! Whenever I see my cherry shorts I get all happy. Love that vintage rick rack! I did a blog post about the pattern from Patterns by Gertie jeans here Butterick B5895 Two Ways. Today I paired them with my thrifted green blouse and thrifted butter yellow high heeled sandals. I felt like wearing cherry cherry colors today πŸ™‚

FullSizeRender(102)

So today was my day off and I knew exactly where I wanted to go check out. I had looked online for any fabric outlets or warehouses in San Antonio a few days ago, and came across C I Castro Children’s Clothing and Fabric Outlet. Not that I NEEDED any fabric or notions of course, but when has that stopped any crafty/sewing person from browsing a fabric store???

It’s like a treasure trove of textiles. They have mostly formal clothing fabrics which I now know where I’ll get my taffeta for vintage inspired cocktail dresses. Their trims and buttons are very reasonable and I felt like a kid at a candy store. I had to show a little restraint but I did get alot of cute buttons.

FullSizeRender(103)

Did you see the cute daisy trim? Eeek! A yellow cotton dress with that trim would be amazing.

FullSizeRender(104)

A trim tiered “cake”! I could see myself get trim addicted here πŸ™‚

FullSizeRender(106)

I ended up buying 3 yards of yellow gingham taffeta, white and red trim, several cones of thread and I don’t even know how many buttons and zippers. I even stayed in my budget. Yep, that surprised me too. LOVE LOVE LOVE.

FullSizeRender(107)

Up close shot of my fish button. Haven’t a clue what I’ll put them on, but I purchased a pair. Maybe a sailor inspired 1940’s blouse?

FullSizeRender(108)

Trim! Trim! Trim! I also must say the staff there were very nice and helpful. The wonderful woman who assisted me made me laugh, so 5 stars there. Happy shopping is the best shopping. She did mention they also had a website exclusively for lace and trim. I haven’t purchased anything online with them yet, but in store they get a great review from me!

FullSizeRender(105)

The other half of their outlet they have the cutest girl dresses. So inspiring to see those formal fabrics transformed into such beautiful creations.

Thanks for reading! πŸ™‚

 

 

 

