Outfits

Groovin’ with Jiffy and Plaid

IMG_3140

Simplicity strikes again with Day 4 and Day 5 of my Me Made May 2016 pledge! Looking through my Me Made wardrobe, it was greatly apparent that I do not have enough separates. I get so caught up in dresses that I forget how versatile and wardrobe expanding a good set of separates can do!

I had purchased the Jiffy Simplicity pattern 1364 some time ago, and chose pattern B (the polka dot one on the envelope illustration). They weren’t kidding this is a super Jiffy pattern! I used a white poly blend, medium weight fabric. I really do want to copy that polka dot blouse though. Maybe next time!

IMG_3138

Such an “instant gratification” pattern! THis is my Day 5 of the Me Made May #MMMAY16 pledge. (Darn it, I should of put Day 4 first now it’s backwards!) The skirt is Express and glittery plastic shoes Ebay. I tried to tease and hairspray my hair into the highest beehive I could and I think it’s ok, not as puffy as I wanted it but it’ll do!

IMG_3139

Next time I make this I might shorten the bust darts a bit so they’re not resting RIGHT on my bosom. ๐Ÿ™‚

Overall I liked this pattern, really simple, easy to follow and fun! Here are two more pics of me trying and failing at the MOD look ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_3121

Day 4 of my Me Made pledge was my vintage Simplicity pattern strappy blouse, another version of Iโ€™m In Love With Gingham. This time I used a happy pastel blend of plaid. Matched with my thrifted shorts and straw purse, my Day 4 outfit was complete!

IMG_3093

Another view, before I realized that I had forgotten to sew a hook and eye above the side zipper ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_3128

Here’s a sneak peek of my next blouse, Simplicity 1692! I had gone to Hancocks Fabrics (which is still having it’s closing sale over here) and this fabric was just calling my name. There was just a bit left on the bolt, and when the clerk measured it, there was JUST enough for a blouse, the EXACT 1 and 5/8 yards!!!! Fate. Simple as that.

Thanks for reading!

 

