Outfits · Vintage Finds

Thrifted Fabric = Vintage Simplicity Pattern Skirt

IMG_3063

My Day 2 pledge for #MeMadeMay2016 is my thrifted fabric skirt which I made from a vintage Simplicity Pattern. The fabric is almost gauzy but not quite and very lightweight. The print reminds me of watercolors, and there are cascading bouquets all around it. LOVE. I found the fabric for 99 cents at a thrift store a long time back and knew it would make a cute skirt.

I have made two skirts from this vintage pattern, I’m In Love With Gingham and Je’Taime Paris Skirt in a Hurry. This pattern has three main panels and a waist. That’s it. And I had just enough fabric for it. Fate.

 

FullSizeRender(84)

I’ve made the shorts and strappy top already too, but not the button down. That’s on my to-do list 🙂

IMG_3061

I love the weightlessness of the fabric, and I wish I knew what it was!IMG_3062

The sweater is a vintage clothing store find, tag said it was from the 60’s and was only $10! Shoes and blouse are new. I used vintage thread from my Kitsch Finds and Estate Sale Haul and my box of haberdashery.

Can anyone out there date a 19 cent spool of thread. I’m thinking 1960’s????

IMG_3060

I wore this outfit to work today and it instantly brightened my blah Monday! #MMMay16 outfit #2 in the books!

Follow me on Instagram @vintagedreamblog!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Thrifted Fabric = Vintage Simplicity Pattern Skirt

  1. That thread would have been early 1960’s. By the time 1970 thread was 35 cents for a small spool. I think they introduced plastic spools in the 60’s. Wooden spools were gone by 1980. I made several skirts like that in the early 60’s. I finished High School in 1966.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.