Outfits

Butterick B6019 The Vintage Inspired Hawaiian Dress

IMG_2989

So I have this little thing for vintage Hawaii. Especially the 1950’s style sarong/wrap dresses with that gorgeous Hawaiian style fabric. Makes me yearn for a vacation. That I can’t take. Sigh. But now that it’s getting hot here in San Antonio, it’s the perfect time to wear some tropical prints. I bought Butterick B6019 and the Hawaiian cotton print fabric at Jo-Ann Fabrics a few weeks ago. I thought the faux wrap in front was just begging for this black background with pink flowers. LOVE.

FullSizeRender(82)

Here’s an up close view of the bust. The seams don’t match up perfect, but after several seam ripped attempts, it was the best I could do. I cut the pattern to the size 10 and the bust to the D cup. I did spend a few minutes reading aloud the instructions for the bust’s cross over fold, but after fiddling with it I figured it out.

 

FullSizeRender(83)

This was my FIRST TIME EVER USING BONING, and boy was I intimidated. But I knew, I just knew, that if I skipped this part there were going to be some embarrassing wardrobe malfunctions in my future. Motivation enough to use boning lol. The pattern’s instructions tell you exactly where to place the covered boning though, and it was simple. I will definitely use more boning in my dresses in the future as it gives a bodice “oomph”.

I did change a few things however. I did not want elastic gathered side panels (going for a smoother back look) and I wanted the back and side panels to be a bit taller.  This took some measuring, but I widened the #13 panels by 2 inches or so and lengthened both the #13 and #15 panels at the top by a good 1.5 inches. Just measure to make sure you have enough fabric to reach around the back and get a zipper in and then tall enough for preference.

IMG_3066

Tada! The side/back view. No elastic side panels and taller back altogether.

IMG_3065

Notice the cup seam NOT lining up with the bodice seam. Irks me to no end. But my saving grace is that with the print being as busy as it is, I hope it isn’t that noticeable. I do love the faux wrap in front though 🙂

IMG_3067

When I make this dress again, I will probably lengthen the dress hem by about 3 inches. I do love the finished result though, and I love the print.

IMG_3064

Since I did not wear this dress today but on Sunday April 30, I know it doesn’t count for the #MeMadeMay2016 pledge. But I’ll post and blog bout it anyway because I love it. My first attempt at sewing a strapless dress, Hawaiian inspired dress and boning.  And on another note my earrings were a vintage store find, they feel like paper mache? They don’t match the pink hue of the dress’ flowers but I thought they’d be a cute addition. Oh yes, and heels are thrifted….of course. Yay!

Don’t forget to follow me on Instragram @vintagedreamblog!

2 thoughts on “Butterick B6019 The Vintage Inspired Hawaiian Dress

Comments are closed.