Goings On · Outfits

My Vintage Inspired Felt Circle Skirt

FullSizeRender(81)

Maybe I watched Madmen too much. Maybe it’s because I love the mid century modern mini bar husband and I found this past year. Whatever it is, I LOVE this cocktail theme felt circle skirt. I found it while drooling over an amazing Etsy store, Butch Wax Vintage. OMG I want every single piece of glorious vintage clothing this store offers.

I found the above dress, the “Fabulous 1950’s Cokctail Drinks Theme Wool Felt Beyond Circe Skirt.” (Still available at the time I’m writing this so go get it!) The appliques were a wine bottle, martini, tropical drink (my personal fav) and a wine jug. How darling! Unfortunately it was not in my size 😦 I went back to that listing repeatedly, mourning the thought that I would not be able to experience it’s circle skirt greatness.

After wallowing in self pity for just a little bit, I realized I should try and make a circle skirt. After all, I do sew. Coming home from Joann’s Fabrics with a giant bag of brown felt by the yard and a little bag of felt squares and embroidery floss, I knew it was all or nothing.

After sewing my waistband to the giant circle and putting in a zipper, it was on to the fun stuff. Cutting out and appliqueing the cocktails. I had to look at Butch Wax Vintage’s photos to guess-ti-mate the size of each one and the positioning. I cut the templates out of copy paper and the pinned them to my skirt. The hardest one to get the right size was the thin wine bottle. I have no idea why.

FullSizeRender(80)

I love how Butch Wax Vintage poses in all her shots. So graceful! And I’m having major petticoat envy right now because hers has way more volume than mine. FullSizeRender(77)

Tada! My version of the cocktails felt circle skirt. I added a pimento circle in the olive but tried to keep the rest as near the original as possible.

FullSizeRender(78)

Mmmmm, makes me want a tropical drink right about now!

FullSizeRender(76)

My yellow blouse and yellow belt are Goodwill finds, and my wedge sandals were on sale at Forever 21. The orange purse was a vintage find way back in high school and that I still treasure to this day.

I do want to thank Butch Wax Vintage for allowing me to share her photos. You really need to check out her Etsy store, follow her on Instagram @butchwaxvintage and her blog!

I finished my skirt with the plan to wear it to a Fiesta event. I thought with it being about 80ish degrees out that a giant felt skirt would not be the ideal clothing choice, but with my petticoat underneath it was surprisingly cool. Ventilation perhaps?

IMG_2858

I tried my first Mangonada, which is mangos, chamoy sauc and chili powder. I don’t how I lived without this in my life.

IMG_2876

The Flambeau Parade was awesome, and I learned that this parade is the largest illuminated parade in the United States. Pretty cool.

Hope you liked my DIY felt circle skirt, and I hope you make one of your own!

Follow me on Instagram at @vintagedreamblog~

 

2 thoughts on “My Vintage Inspired Felt Circle Skirt

Comments are closed.