Outfits · Vintage Finds

Simplicity #1101 and Thrift Haul

FullSizeRender(75)

Jiffy patterns are great. Destined to satisfy your inner creative and quick enough to be done in time before our attention spans get the best of us!

I made this pattern before in a really cool cotton print, Groovy Simplicity Pattern #1101. This time I went down a size in the pattern and I shortened the hem line. The fabric is cotton and I love the leafy print. Today is a no-makeup-catch-up-on-errands-I-couldn’t-find-time-for-all-week kind of day. Hence the big sunglasses!FullSizeRender(74)

I love the criss-cross of the back, and I’m slowly getting better at zippers. Today in San Antonio it’s a warm 82 degrees Fahrenheit, so anything sleeveless is comfortable!

FullSizeRender(72)

FullSizeRender(59)

I went to Hancock’s Fabrics today (sob) while their going-out-of-business sale is still going on. So sad. I did get stopped twice by customers who complemented my dress. It is such a universally appealing pattern and I know it would look great on just about everyone and doesn’t it look different depending on your choice of fabric!

FullSizeRender(73)

Now on to my Goodwill thrift find1 This (sixties?) era Singer Touch & Sew machine accessories. $4.99 for both boxes. My mother has this machine so this went to her happy home and to good use. I love the illustration of the woman sewing on her coffee table, because I thought I was the only one who did that sometimes 🙂

IMG_2813

Don’t you love her teased hair? I have to learn how to do my hair like this….

IMG_2815

The contents were more or less all there. I think the smaller box was missing a disk. the big box held Singer lubricant, bobbins, plates,.feet, disks, extra needles, etc. A great find. High five for me!

Until next time, don’t forget to follow me on Instagram!

 

