Outfits · Vintage Finds

Butterick B5895 Two Ways

So Butterick has done it again! I’m obsessing over Patterns by Gertie Butterick B5895. I always feel self conscious in low waist or hip hugging jeans and pants. Every time I sit down in those I imagine my derriere out for the world to see. And it’s hard to find a pair that doesn’t gap in the back. Solution…high waist pants. These to me are “pedal pushers”. LOVE.

When I bought this pattern I have to admit I was a little scared. I had never sewn a pair of pants before. My husband watched me for a bit as I started sewing and commented, “So you’ve never made pants before?” I answered, “Nope, but I’ve made shorts before. Pants are kinda like shorts only….longer….” and then I realized I sounded dumb because husband said, “Yes, that’s what pants are. Shorts. Only longer.” LOL, take for his sarcasm to help me get through my fear of sewing pants.

Ok so believe it or not, that white with blue check fabric is a sheet. Yes, a sheet. From the Goodwill for $1.99 it was 50% off. Call me crazy but when I see sheets I think, FABRIC. CHEAP FABRIC. Yards of fabric. Perfect for clothes. It has a brushed cotton feel, not that shiny look some sheets have.

FullSizeRender(70)

Yes, I’m in a dressing room. One does not just pass up a full length mirror!

The pattern is great and so easy to follow, and with each step my sewing anxiety lessened. The pockets are amazingly simple to make, and I kept staring at them shocked that I did that. I really tried to match the pattern at seams, the front seam looks ok and but the waist band doesn’t match up with front. But that’s ok with me. At least I tried.

Remember my estate sale haul a few posts back? In that big box of haberdashery I found red rick rack. JUST enough of it to trim the waistband of my shorts. It was meant to be.

This was my first time using trim in my sewing, so I had to redo and rip it out a few times to get it right. I’m happy I kept trying though I think it gives the shorts a whimsical touch. The cherry fabric is too cute, found it at Walmart it’s a Waverly Inspirations cotton. I did have to mind the fabric and pattern because I didn’t want upside down cherries on my shorts lol.

For the shorts I wanted it short but not SHORT. I’m in my thirties and I didn’t want any bits of me oozing out the bottom of the shorts. No thanks. I measured about 4.5 inch inseam and sewed a narrow hem. You will of course be shorter or longer depending on your preference.

Last but not least I’m giving a shout out to my vintage find, a barn purse. Yes, while others are pining away for the newest designer dudes (which I love but can’t afford), I tote around a barn. I LOVE IT. I think it’s from the 1970’s and it came as a kit if I’m not mistaken. Someone took the time to make this adorable piece, and it’s one of my favorite purses ever. SWOON.

So that’s it for my pattern two ways. Each piece took me about 2 hours to make. I hope this helps you if you too have a fear of sewing  pair of pants 🙂

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Butterick B5895 Two Ways

  1. Those shorts are dreamy!!! Good idea on the ric rac! I’ve made these about 10 times (I live in hot Texas too—Austin) Just found your blog (thru instagram) and I love it! Keep it going!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.