Outfits · Vintage Finds

Thrifted Yellow Dress and Chickens

FullSizeRender(65)

Today was so gloomy in San Antonio. Warm, drizzly and gloomy. Ugh. I woke up just not feeling it, and wishing it was a sunny and cool 78 degrees. But alas, that was not to happen. I figured though that if I can’t get sunshine from nature, I was going to have to do it myself!

The other day while at my usual Goodwill I found the sunniest, happiest (vintage?) yellow dress. It’s home made from a light weight cotton. I tried it on, crossing my fingers it would fit. The waist fit perfect, but whoever owned the dress before had a more ample…ahem…bosom. There were two back darts though, and I was pretty confident I could alter this to fit me. It has belt loops but no belt (wahhh) but lucky me I found a yellow colored leather one there that almost matched. So my $10 dress and $1.99 belt happily came home with me.

FullSizeRender(64)

As soon as I got home I went to work, figuring I would have to take in about an inch on each back dart. Less than 15 minutes of alterations later on my trusty ol’ Singer and viola! Fits great! The collar has cute embroidered initials “CR” and I’m torn whether to cover them up in more embroidery (flowers, hearts?) or leave it be. Any suggestions?

If anyone is wondering my fashionable kitten heeled sandals are (gasp!) new, and I love them. They’re from Payless, their Lily Chopout Pump.

My other thrift store find was this rooster salt and pepper shaker set. It’s egg-cellent lol! It’s far from perfect with a few chips but I think it’s from the 1950’s or 1960’s so it’s allowed to show it’s age. If only they could talk what kind of dinner table conversations would they tell? Probably some “spicy” gossip! Ok, I’ll stop with the puns…

Have you ever found a kitsch item and thought to yourself, “I NEED to collect more of these!” But you know you shouldn’t? Yea, that’s me and vintage salt and pepper shakers. Sigh. I can’t help it!

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram, I just made two new video clips I’ll be posting soon, one for my dress and another I made the chicken dance. Seriously. Don’t miss that.

4 thoughts on “Thrifted Yellow Dress and Chickens

Comments are closed.