Outfits

Groovy Simplicity Pattern #1101

FullSizeRender(59)

When I first laid eyes on this Simplicity #1101 vintage reproduction dress pattern at the fabric store a few months ago, I fell in love. A “Jiffy” pattern, I knew my short term attention span would be rewarded with this quick, instant gratification sewing project. I hummed all the way home I was so excited. So let’s begin!

The sixties “Mad Men” look is awesome. So California chic. I love that the look can change drastically change depending on the type and print of fabric you want. I chose a sixties-ish calico cotton print, with large and small psychedelic and geometric designs. The next time I make this I might copy the envelope illustration and do a lightweight white linen. But ugh who doesn’t get anxiety wearing a white dress? I’ll just have to be less accident prone!

IMG_2570

I made it in the size 10, which might be a little large. It fits great in the bust though, so next time I will just take in the sides for a more fitted look.

IMG_2557

Dang my legs are pale. JUST noticed that. Sigh. Anyway, I love the length. Hits me right at the knees and I’m 5’8″. So depending if you’re taller of shorter you might want to double check the hem and get it right where you want it. This would in my opinion look great as a mini shift dress too. Hmmm, might do that next!

Overall I loved making this. It’s a “Jiffy” pattern and from start to finish it took me just a couple of hours. So get your frosted peach lipstick out, tease that beehive as high as you can, and get ready to love your Simplicity #1101!

IMG_2554

 

 

3 thoughts on “Groovy Simplicity Pattern #1101

  1. This dress looks so cute on you! Plus it looks very comfy, a major plus! I like the idea you had of making a mini shift with that pattern. I think that would look great! Awesome look! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.