Outfits

I’m In Love With Gingham

 

So I’ve slowly realized I have this thing for gingham. Does any one else have an affinity to a certain fabric? Please tell me I’m not the only one!

Back to my trusty, original vintage Simplicity pattern. This skirt pattern is so easy. Like my Je’Taime Paris Skirt in a Hurry, it only needs 3 rectangles and a waist band. This time I thought I’d give a go at the cute tank top as well.

Up close of the skirt and top. I used a lovely blue broadcloth for the skirt, and make a covered button for the waist fastening. The top has 4 waist darts and two bust darts, back has 4 waists darts. Side zipper (I hate zippers) and two cute straps and done!

IMG_2349

I’m going to make the top again this summer, and next time make the waist and bust line smaller. The bunching on the waist bothers me. There’s a gap in the front, which I’m torn between liking and not liking. Nice drape but on the envelope sketch there was no drape. Hmmm. To be noted I’m also wearing a petticoat (gotta love the shape it gives the skirt, a must!)

I still have a bit of the blue broadcloth, thinking of making the cute shorts pattern to complement the top!

FullSizeRender(57)

So that’s my outfit! After work today I treated myself to a Texas shaved ice, Pina Colada with chamoy (salted fruit seasoned with chile powder and turned into a syrup…think salty, sweet, spicy stickiness). It really hit the spot! 🙂

One thought on “I’m In Love With Gingham

Comments are closed.