Outfits

My Emerald Mad Men Dress

IMG_2061

Don’t even get me started on the last episode on Season 7 of Mad Men. WTH? But we all know why we watched the show, one for Donald Draper, two for the Mid Century modern EVERYTHING, and three for the clothes. Oh the clothes!

FullSizeRender(49)

Butterick 6582 has the most amazing 1960 retro shift dress pattern. I made this dress a few weeks ago for a work event, and it took about 2.5 hours start to finish. The envelope suggested light weight faile, taffeta, pique and light weight linen. I chose a lovely emerald green linen blend. Instructions were easy to follow, and I like how the top cross part isn’t actually crossed over.

IMG_2110

The pretty brunette on the front wore the dress I wanted to make first. Yellow dress is next 🙂

FullSizeRender(51)

Word of warning for linen, it wrinkles like you wouldn’t believe. I wore this dress today at a work luncheon and by the end of it I looked like I did squats in the dress. Maybe I’ll use more starch next time I iron it….

IMG_2085

I lengthened the skirt about an inch because with my long legs I didn’t like where it ended originally. I made it in a size 10, which fits me great up top on the bust, but next time I will make the waist and hips a little more fitted. I’m going for the whole Mad-Men-Secretary-Joan-Fits-Like-A-Glove look 🙂

FullSizeRender(50)

Pumps are Ann Taylor, thrifted of course, similar here.

IMG_2075

My dress after the work luncheon, wrinkly as heck.

I think this dress would look gorgeous in a black taffeta, the perfect little black dress. Or in a deep red one size too small lol.

 

