Outfits

Butterick B6094 a.k.a. My FAV dress

Ok, just a disclaimer…you will see this dress in many incarnations on my blog. Why? Because dang it I love this Butterick dress pattern. I love the easy to read instructions, the vintage flair, the endless color combinations and I love the fact that I can pick either A-line (big skirt) or pencil (skinny skirt) all in one pattern envelope. So yes, I love it.

I picked up this pattern at my local fabric shop, and being the penny pincher that I am, bought it on their 5 patterns for $5 sale. Quite a bargain considering retail this pattern goes for $19.95…SCORE!

IMG_2011

The back of the envelope suggested several types of fabric, and I picked broadcloth (a cotton solid that karma would have it was on sale at $1.99 a yard) and a cute black and white gingham for the contract back.

FullSizeRender(40)

I think it took me a little over 4 hours to complete, from start to finish. I had to re-read a few instructions racking my brain with “WTH?” comments, but that was from my dusty sewing skills and not the instructions itself. Zipper isn’t set in perfect which irks the heck outta me but I know with practice  I’ll get the hang of it. I even got to make the fabric covered buttons for the very first time on the back flaps.

FullSizeRender(39)

Estimated cost for this dress with me eyeing sales and coupon cutting was about $25. I do have a petticoat on underneath which gives a nice shape to the skirt. The pattern includes a sewn in petticoat I think, but I skipped that since I already owned a separate petticoat.

FullSizeRender(41)

Add a cute pair of pumps from Payless (link below) and a vintage velvet purse I found at an antique store and viola! Outfit!

FullSizeRender(37)

Outfit details:

Dress: Handmade by me, pattern is Butterick B6094 here

Purse: Velvet black found at an antique store

Shoes: Women’s Madeline T-Strap Pump from Payless Shoes  here

Pearls (pretty sure they aren’t real) and Cat-Eye sunglasses thrifted

 

🙂 I hope this helps anyone on the fence about this pattern, it’s really a great style and I’ve already made two more dresses from it! 🙂

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Butterick B6094 a.k.a. My FAV dress

Comments are closed.